I want to ride in a blimp

Shop Amazon – Give the Gift of Amazon Prime

When I was too young to remember my parents told me that I asked for a blimp after seeing one in the sky in the late 1940s or early 1950s.  I suppose I was like Randy in the film A Christmas Story.

WOW!! Whoopie, a Zeppelin!!

I never got a Zeppelin for Christmas but much later in life when I was in the Navy I was stationed at Moffett Field NAS in California. I worked on P-3 Orion aircraft in Hangar One, a place so large it had it’s own weather. At one time they actually had the Goodyear Blimp inside for maintenance.

Hangar One at Moffett Field 1963.jpg
Hangar One at Moffett Field 1963” by NASA – Great Images in NASA: Homeinfopic. Licensed under Public Domain via Commons.

I think riding one of these needs to be on my bucket list. A new generation of Goodyear blimps was featured on the Jan 10th Sunday Morning CBS show.

2 thoughts on “I want to ride in a blimp

Leave a Reply

